Structure of the Gita

Bhagavad Gita is organised into 18 chapters and contains 700 verses. The Gita can also be divided into three sections (6 chapters each):

Section 1:
Section 2:
Section 3:
Karma Yoga
Bhakti Yoga
Jnana Yoga

The word "yoga" is nowadays associated with stretching postures and exercises, yet its true meaning is "the process of linking". Specifically, it refers to the process of linking our activities to the Supreme Person, God.

The daily reading of Bhagavad Gita together with chanting the Hare Krishna mantra can bring about rapid spiritual advancement for any person.

Out of numerous translations of the Gita, "Bhagavad Gita As It Is" shines foremost as it brings to bear the purity and competence of its author and offers answers carefully preserved by a chain of teachers which can be traced back to Lord Sri Krishna.

"Bhagavad Gita As It Is" consists of Sanskrit verses together with translations and purports by His Divine Grace A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada. Within the pages of the Gita, the workings of karma, reincarnation and yoga are to be found, as instructed by Lord Krishna to Arjuna.

We invite you to explore this marvellous work.